Let’s get started

After all, why wait and never get to it. The first thing you need to think about, is why I want to be a writer. I’m sure you have several reasons that you want to be. After all most people are not that simple. we have a multitude of reasons we do the things we do.

But think about it for a minute. Out of all the multitude of reasons, whats the real driving reason. If it’s because you just like to write, then thats OK. But thats still not a reason to be a published author. You can write till the cows come home and never get published and you would be happy. But if your not happy, then I suspect theres another driving force involved here.

Your probably asking yourself, “So whats he getting at?” OK be patient here. The problem I see, is that us writers have really big ego’s. Because of that we don’t take failure or rejection well. Not to mention criticism.  All of which your about to embark on in the road to authorship. So get your barings and see why you need this.

For me, it was money, and a little bit of fame. Oh heck, I just wanted to be able to say I did something with my life, I could be proud of. For me that meant accomplishing some or all of the above. You know…Ego. So if your reasons encompass any of the above, you need a reality check. Other wise your heading to a possible nose dive into depression that might just kill your enthusiasm to write.

You see, J.K. Rowling, and Stephine Myers and there ilk are not in anyway the norm. The life style, money, fame and success are on a level almost never seen before. If this is what your shooting for, I wont tell you it’s impossible, just very unlikely.  Most authors aren’t like that. So my first request of you is to do some research and see what it is like. Here’s a link to a N.Y. Times best seller and her experience. Please read it, and learn what your expectations are.http://www.genreality.net/the-reality-of-a-times-bestseller

Do that and i’ll get back to you in my next post. Till then, keep writing.

~ by targoun on April 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
