Shades of Twilight Chap 2

Chapter 2

I don’t consider myself one of those kind of girls that know all about guy things. You know the type, they follow football, baseball, and they know all about cars as well. My interest is very limited when it comes to cars. I know what I like and don’t like. I find that much easier, at least for me. So while I waited at the hospital pick up door, I tried to remember what kind of car Michael had brought me here in as I waited for him to bring it around. For the life of me I could only remember the roof. I suppose that’s because I was really out of it at the time. After what happened, I wasn’t too surprised I couldn’t remember anything but the t-top.

A warm breeze blew against my skin as I waited there thinking about what had happened tonight. I was surprised that Debbie hadn’t called me on my cell phone yet, until I remembered the battery had been low, so I had turned it off earlier tonight when we had went swimming. I reached into my jeans pocket and pulled out my cell and flipped it open, and turned it back on. It only took a second for it to boot up, and yes there had been several messages sent by both Debbie and Sarah. Before I could think to open any of them my cell decided to let me know it was low on power by shutting itself off. I shut it in disgust just as Michael pulled up in his car. As I said before, I don’t really know anything about cars, but this one was easy to identify. It was a perfect replica of the car Burt Reynolds drove in Smoky and the Bandit. A black Trans-am with a great big golden bird on the hood. I felt a little disappointed, as I have to admit, I did kind of expect him to roll up in at least a Corvette, as that was the only car I could remember that had a t-top, but that disappointment did slip away as he jumped out of the car and ran around to open the door for me. That was a bit unexpected, especially these days as I couldn’t remember the last time anyone had done that for me.

The inside of the car was immaculate, and completely black, except the chrome on the dashboard, which most of that was surprisingly gold. Michael jumped in and smiled at me.

“You ready?” I followed his eyes as they looked down at my unbuckled seat belt. I shook my head as I buckled myself in. Normally, I don’t forget such a thing, but tonight I seemed to be wandering around in a daze for some reason. It just had to be my near death experience that had me so rattled. The car pulled out fairly swiftly, and once we were on the street moving, I was glad I was buckled in. He wasn’t driving recklessly or anything like that, he was just going faster than the speed limit. Not even by a whole lot, only around ten miles an hour faster, but I couldn’t help it, I personally drove like an old lady whenever I got the chance to drive. I’m not sure I ever intentionally driven over the speed limit once in my life. So to say I felt a bit uncomfortable was a bit of an understatement. Rather then complain to the man who saved me, I decided to just ignore the road and turn my attention to him, after all he was what I really wanted to look at.

“So Michael, thank you for saving my life.” I smiled and hoped I looked sincere. The minute he turned to look at me, I felt a wooziness run through me. My stomach started to flip flop and my heart rate shot up so high I could hear it beating in my ear drums.

“I’m just glad I was there to help, and by the way, you can call me Mike.” He smiled and turned his attention back on the road. I wasn’t sure what it was about him, but there was something different. Ignoring the fact that I got all dizzy in the head and felt like I was having heat flashes every time he looked at me, there was something else about him that I couldn’t quite put my finger on. A sense of mystery, maybe intrigue. I almost had to wonder if he might be a spy, or some other kind of secret agent. I wasn’t sure, but was sure this man had layers beneath layers, it was almost palpable around him.

“This is a nice car.” I said.

“Thank you. I like it.”

“Is it a collector’s item?” I asked and immediately wished I could take it back. Now I was going to look insulting or maybe just sound like a smart ass when all I was trying to do is find something to say, so I didn’t appear boring.

“I don’t know, actually. It might be? Why, are you in to antiques?” He turned and smiled that disarming smile again. At least he didn’t take it the wrong way, or if he had, he didn’t show it.

“No, I was just wondering. I haven’t seen many of these on the road, especially in such good condition.” I hoped that sounded good. After all, it wasn’t a lie, the car did look brand new, so it was a fair statement.

He glanced over at me, and gave me the strangest look. I really can’t say what made it different from any other look I’ve ever had. Maybe it was the stars reflecting in his eyes at that moment, but it felt as if he were looking into my soul. I felt like my whole body froze up as he did so, and it was kind of like being trapped in the headlights of a car, like some small animal. Then it was just gone. He sat there smiling that reassuring smile as if he didn’t have a clue that he had just reached into the deepest part of my being and shined a light into it to examine it’s dankest recesses.

“You have nothing to fear from me, Melissa.” He said as he pulled up to my duplex. I was a little in shock as I looked out at it. I couldn’t ever remember telling him where I lived. I had meant to, mind you, but I just never got around to it. In fact, I really didn’t even know where we were going until this moment.

“How did you know where to go?” I asked, and pointed at my home.

“You told me.” He smiled again.

“When did I do that?” I felt even more confused than I had the entire night before.

“It doesn’t matter.” He said. “What really matters is that you’re safe and at home and you need to get some rest.” He was right, after all, but that still didn’t answer my question.

“I’m sorry, but I really don’t remember telling you. You didn’t go through my things did you?” I asked, feeling a little wary of this guy for the first time.

I almost wanted to laugh when he put a hurt expression on his face, but there was something in his eyes that said I had really cut him, and I found myself feeling bad about what I had said.

“I’m sorry, I don’t know what’s gotten into me. You saved my life, I suppose if you meant me any harm…never mind, I’m just not myself tonight.” I started to rattle on as I put my hand over my face to try and hide my embarrassment.

“Nonsense, there is nothing to apologize for.” Before I looked back up, Mike had somehow gotten out of the car and was at my door, opening it. I hadn’t even seen or heard him open his own door. It was the strangest thing.

“Let me help you to your doorway and then I’ll be off.” He smiled, and I knew I wanted him to do more than that. I just had no idea how to express that, or why I should want to. The walk to my doorway was over too quickly, and before I knew it Michael was saying goodbye.

“Perhaps tomorrow we could talk again?”

“Sure,” I answered, after all, how was I going to say no to some one as good looking as that? Let alone the very person who rescued me. “Give me a call.”

“Can I have your number?” I had to laugh at myself there. I guess I just naturally assumed he had my number, as he seemed to know everything else about me. I ran into the house and got a piece of paper and wrote it out for him. He was still waiting outside the door when I came back to give it to him.

“How about 7 tomorrow night? I’ll pay for dinner if that’s alright?” He said, as he looked at the number.

“Okay, I didn’t know it was a date.” Not that I mind. It was just a little fast. Normally men had to get to know me somewhat before they asked me for my number or wanted to take me out. Debbie was the only girl I knew, and sometimes Sarah, who had men throwing themselves at her. It was a nice change, and at the moment, I couldn’t think of anyone I wanted to go out with more.

“I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to presume, I only wanted to talk.” He had that hurt expression on his face again. I really began to hope that was just an act, otherwise I couldn’t help but think I might just be chasing him away with my wit.

“No, no, it’s okay. I was only joking.” I said, while lifting my hand up to let him know I wasn’t chasing him away. He just smiled a smile that made my knees weak,then turned and headed for his car. He waved once before pulling away, and I stood there and watched him drive out of sight. What a night it had been. I shut the door and locked it. My stomach growled and if I were up to it I would have showered, but I just couldn’t. It was all I could do to plug my cell phone in and just fall on my bed. The pillows were downy and so soft, I couldn’t have been laying there long before I fell into a deep sleep.

It was two o’clock in the afternoon when I finally rolled over and looked at my clock. It was a good thing It was my day off today, otherwise I was four hours late already. I laid there entangled in my comforter, and thought about the night before. My near death experience and the man who rescued me, Mike. I wasn’t sure what had happened, most the night was a blur, and for half of my actions, I couldn’t explain them if you asked me to. It was like I was another person. Taking chances and risking life and limb. Mike was a real nice guy, and I was grateful for him rescuing me, but I wasn’t so sure that a date was really the best idea at this point. Sure, I suppose going out for a coffee was the least I could do to thank him, but after having a night to sleep on it, I didn’t think it was such a hot idea anymore.

The sad part was, a part of me still wanted to go out and see what would happen with him. Fortunately, that part of me was a small dark voice that didn’t do so well in the light of the next day. The only real problem now, was, I didn’t have his number. In the rush to give him mine, I had completely forgotten to ask him for his.

Well, that was going to make it not only difficult to cancel, but awkward in a big way when he showed up tonight. Once again, that strange person that I had become last night haunted my footsteps today. There just wasn’t any way around it. I resigned myself to going on a dinner date that was not a date with a stranger I hardly knew. Well. at least he was nice, and was probably the most gorgeous guy to have ever asked me out. I needed to stop this before I lost myself again.

I got up and headed for the shower after picking up a clean pair of sweat pants and a green tee shirt. An hour later I was drying my hair and staring at my face in the mirror. There was nothing special, except maybe my green eyes. My mom always said that having green eyes was the sign of people with special calls in their lives. I grew up thinking that because of that, I was called to some greatness in my life. That was until I met my first green eyed kid in school. I reasoned that little boy must be destined for some great thing as well, and I tried to share that with him. He just laughed at me, and then yanked my pony tail hard, laughing all the time he did it.

I remember wondering how it was possible that someone so mean could have any calling in their life. So I reasoned it was some sort of cosmic mistake. Until the next year, when my new teacher had green eyes, and two more kids I had never met before had moved in to the district and started to go to school, and guess what? They had green eyes too. From that day on I saw more and more people who had green eyes, and slowly I began to realize that maybe the one who had made the mistake was my mom. That was years ago, and even though I know green eyes were normal now a days, a part of me deep down felt that it meant there was still something special about me. It was a good thing, too, because except for them, the only other thing I had was a too long skinny face, way too many freckles for an eighteen year old woman, and long fine straight red hair that refused to do anything it was told.

After dressing I went and made myself some toast and cereal. I loved raisin bran, and had been addicted to it since I was a kid, it was one of my great pleasures in life. I checked my phone and thankfully it said it was charged. The moment I turned the ringer on, it announced that a call was coming in. It was Debbie. No surprise there, it looked as if she had been calling me all night from the number of missed calls from her.

“Hello?” I answered.

“Where have you been?”

“Asleep.” and I yawned to make a point.

“I was scared half the night for you, and you were a sleep?”

“Ah, yeah. I was tired after almost drowning.”

“Well, next time try to remember there are people that care about you and think about how they feel, please?”

“Mhm.” I said, and then took a mouthful of cereal. I was really wishing I had finished eating it before I picked up the phone.

“I almost called your parents to see if they had heard anything.”

I choked on my food. The last thing I needed was my parents calling me up telling me to come back home, and guilting me for not calling and telling them I was alright.

“Debbie…” I tried, once my throat was clear again, “tell me you didn’t.”

“I said I almost. Weren’t you listening?”

“Yeah, but I just got up, give me a break!” I sat down in my favorite chair folding my legs beneath me as I balanced my bowl of cereal and pinned the cell between my ear and shoulder as I talked.

“How are you feeling?” Concern filled her voice. It was the first real concern I heard in her voice since answering her call.

“I guess I’m all right. My head’s a bit fuzzy, and the night was a blur.”

“I have no idea what got into you last night. Jumping off like that.”

You guys do it.” I defended myself.

“Not like that, Melissa. You nearly got yourself killed.”

“Yeah, I know. Trust me, I won’t be doing that again.”

There was a long pause on the other side of the phone, and just for a second I considered whether Debbie had hung up or been disconnected in some way.

“So. Tell me.”

“About?” I asked, knowing full well what was coming.

You know. Did you get a name?”

“Only you would think something happened last night, after a near death experience.” I smiled to myself.

“Oh, please. You had to notice how gorgeous he was.”

“Who, you mean Michael?”

“Is that his name?” She paused then said his name slowly, as if mulling it over. “Oh, that name fits him.”

I felt a little annoyed with the way she was drooling over Mike on the phone. I wasn’t sure why I started feeling protective over him, especially since I was trying to find a way to weasel out of going tonight, but something about the way Debbie said his name made me want to go with him tonight all the more. Just so she couldn’t steal him from me.

It was then that I decided, without really thinking about it, that I was going to go, and in fact that I was going to rub it in her face.

“Yeah, I’m going out to dinner with him.”

“When?” She inhaled as she said it, and it sounded almost like a hiss.

“Tonight. He’s made arrangements, and you know what, looking at the time, I need to go to start getting ready.”

“Where are you guys going?” She said, and sounded a bit desperate, which was not normal for Debbie.


“I’m sorry, Deb, I’ll call you later and let you know what happened.” Before she could answer I hung up the phone and turned off the ringer. A sense of wicked satisfaction filled me as I did so. It was nice to one-up her for once. I was always playing second fiddle to her, and even if I loved her like a sister, there was just some part of me that had been waiting for a moment like this.

I sat there savoring it until a twinge of guilt began to creep in. I wondered if maybe I should call Debbie and apologize for my actions, after all, I didn’t really want to go out with Michael tonight.

Yet, no matter how much I wanted to, I found I just…couldn’t, It made me wonder just what was in store for tonight.

~ by targoun on August 23, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
