Two years of Indy publishing

Some people may be wondering if self publishing is right for them.  It’s a hard question to answer, as it really depends on what you want. There’s very little glamor or fame in it unless your a John Locke or an Amanda Hocking.

Let’s face it, not many people are going to sell over a million books as an Indy. For that matter the same goes for the traditional crowd as well.  It’s not easy to reach those numbers. I haven’t, but I have done pretty good for someone without a name or a big publisher backing them. The fact that these guys have done it means that it can be done and it should give us all hope that our books will be that well read.

As for me, well my first year out back in 2010 I sold around 500 books. That’s pretty good when so many people say that you will most likely only sell around a 100 books over the lifetime of that book if you go the self published route. Nothing to cry about when I never really thought about actually publishing any of my stories before. So it felt really good back then.

This year has been a big surprise so far, and I almost wish it wouldn’t come to an end. I’m flattered and surprised by how many people actually read my books, and even more that so many people actually like them. I want to thank everyone that has taken the time out to read them. Words can not express my gratitude! I really do love you all!

Oh yeah… That’s right I’m suppose to tell you how well I did. Oops… Well lets see…

 

2010   500 sales

2011    17,705 sales

 

Yep… Blows me away. That doesn’t even count my free promotions over the year. If I counted those giveaways my figures would be over 25,000 books. Not a bad year, and the last month isn’t over yet. I’m hoping for an even better year in 2012, especially with the release of several more books in the next couple of month’s.

So is going Indy/ self publishing a good idea. You decided.

~ by targoun on December 11, 2011.

One Response to “Two years of Indy publishing”

  1. […] Two years of Indy publishing (targoun.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

 
